UA Student Media annually present the Media Planning Board Awards based on submitted nominations by students, as well as professional support staff.

These awards are:

James E. Jacobson Awards

The Jacobson awards are presented in honor of James E. Jacobson, a long-time member and former chairman of the Media Planning Board. He was also a former editor-in-chief of The Crimson White and later editor of The Birmingham News. The Jacobson awards recognize student excellence in four separate areas: Service, Management, Writing and Photography.

Walter C. Densmore Award

This award is given in the name of Walter C. Densmore who is the retired director of purchasing for UA and a member of the MPB for more than 20 years. This award recognizes a student who has performed well in the business and marketing areas of student media.

Dr. Sarah Healy Award

This award is given in the name of Dr. Sarah Healy who is the former UA dean of women and is the person responsible for creating the Board of Publications which later became the Media Planning Board. This award is given to someone who has been of great service to the MPB and OSM during the year. This award is usually a non-student who has contributed significantly to student media.

Chris Swindle Award

This award given in the name of Chris Swindle, the 2009-10 Southern Historian editor who succumbed to cancer, honors the student who best exemplifies Chris’ spirit of unselfish helpfulness and personal caring. Please nominate someone who goes out of his/her way to provide support and assistance to others.

Joel A. Mask Award

The Joel A. Mask award for advertising excellence is given to someone who has excelled in ad sales and service. The award is named for the Office of Student Media’s former associate director of advertising.